I hate you

“I hate you!”

I had to say it. It welled up inside of me and the feeling was bursting from my chest. Of course, she didn’t fail to echo the same words to me.

I looked into her eyes and I could see they were filled with the same sentiments. She loathed me. Her eyes were red and puffy from crying. Any other time, I would have wanted to console her, but I couldn’t see past her clenched jaw and the vein pulsing in her temple.

“You messed up everything!” I screamed.

She did. She destroyed relationships and pushed the people I loved away from me. How could she? I felt sick thinking of the situation she put me in.

Inhale.

I had to remind myself to breathe. Emotions collided and twisted inside my chest. Grief caused my limbs to weaken, but anger made my hand clench into a fist, and rage made me extend my arm to her with so much force I could feel pain from the contact.

At least now, I didn’t have to look at her. I didn’t bother looking up, I knew I wouldn’t be able to see her in front of me anyway. Just shards of the mirror collected at my feet.

by Angelique Grey

Leave a Reply

