Tell them

I watched a little boy pull a piece of paper out of a notebook and wrote something on it. He passed it to my son and my son had one of the biggest smiles on his face.

The little boy wrote, “you are my best friend.”

Yes, this moment touched my heart. The innocence of a child expressing to another what he means to him is wonderful to witness. The moment didn’t just touch my heart, it stirred my thoughts.

When was the last time I expressed how much a friend meant to me?

I want to encourage everyone including myself to do this. Let your friends know that you appreciate them. Don’t assume they know. Don’t convince yourself to put it off. Do it now.

I’m not going to go on about how you never know when will be the last time you talk to your friend. What I will say is whenever you think about how much a person means to you or reflect on how you were grateful for something they did for you, tell them. If you already told them once, tell them again.

When I feel overwhelmed and discouraged, it’s easy for me to feel lost, unappreciated, forgotten. Even when I know the opposite is true, it doesn’t change how I feel. Maybe if a friend told me how much I mean to her/him, it would help me to dismiss the feelings that lie to me.

I know I’m not the only one that goes through this, so I’m committing to this process. When you cross my mind, you will know. When I think back on how much you mean to me, you will know. When I reflect on how blessed I am to have you in my life, you will know.

Okay, mushy moment done.

by Angelique Grey

Leave a Reply

