Just finished… #1

I just finished Thieves’ Paradise by Eric Jerome Dickey.

Do you know how long it took me to realize “rainbows” were the flashing lights of a police car? I feel slow.

I liked it, but it didn’t make my top five favorite books of all time (one being A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle). Dickey brought me into this world and I found myself intrigued and confused. Most of the people in the story felt trapped and I couldn’t relate to that feeling and I hope I never do. The story line was easy to follow and I didn’t find the ending predictable. At times, I felt like yelling advice at the characters to get out of there and leave him/her alone, but that was as effective as yelling at the girl on the movie screen during the first few moments of Scream. His descriptions were decent and gave me something to aspire to – describing without drowning in details. The dialogue flowed and I liked how he captured Big Slim’s dialect with terms like “biddness”. The story is set in 2002 and that threw me off for a moment with mentions of pagers, cassette players, and musical references to hits back in that day. I remember those days, but for some reason I didn’t think this book was that old. This also meant he incorporated details about that time like the dot com layoffs and after effects of 9/11.

I’m still wondering what made this writer a New York Times Bestselling Author. What was his story about that captured people’s attention? Perhaps, I should pick up the “Bestselling” book Between Lovers and find out, but I’m on to my sci-fi book next.

A/N: I’m not an expert critic and these are just my opinions. I welcome opposing viewpoints and dialogue without personal insults and inappropriate language. I’ll also take suggestions for my next book after I complete Titan by Ben Bova.

One thought on “Just finished… #1

Leave a Reply

