It’s true

It’s true what they say, you know? Sometimes things move when you’re not looking. But sometimes when you open your eyes quickly enough, you can catch them.

I thought I was going crazy. My head throbbed and all I wanted to do was close my eyes. When I laid down to go to sleep, I remembered that I needed to set my alarm on my phone. Opening my eyes, I caught it.

It moved so quickly, I didn’t believe it when I saw it. My pulse quickened and my body tensed. “Fight or flight” is what they call my response and my body was ready for both. Unwilling to believe my body’s response was warranted, I stayed perfectly still.

After a few minutes, I dismissed it all and fell asleep. My alarm rang out at 6 am calling me to start my day. Lazily, I crawled out of bed and hit the snooze. Pulling the covers over my shoulder, I closed my eyes to search for the lingering fragments of an interrupted dream, but my mind had other intentions. Instead it began to reveal to me an inconsistency, replaying the events of the evening before.

I remembered my headache. It wasn’t unusual for me to have them. I recalled the hairs on the back of my neck raising in response to something that startled me. Finally, the sequence of events led to sleep. What was my mind trying to tell me? I just wanted my mind to stop and let me get the last few minutes of rest when…

The same sensation began again. My heart quickened its beat and my muscles tensed. I looked around my room, but knew I wouldn’t see anything. It didn’t matter. I knew it was there. It was probably hiding in plain sight and I would have never known it was there except it did something last night to give its presence away. How did I know?

I didn’t set my alarm.

by Angelique Grey

Leave a Reply

