Just Finished #4

Europa Report by Philip Gelatt
Europa Report is a movie I just watched on Netflix. Click here for the trailer. Although I originally started this “Just Finished” series for my review of books, I’m making an exception for this film.

A six member international crew sets out to explore Europa, one of Jupiter’s moon. Why? There’s ice and where there is water, the possibility of life. It’ll take almost 2 years to get there and with cameras everywhere, the world can share the experience with the brave crew.

Of course, not everything goes as planned. I won’t spoil the story for anyone so I’ll get to what I thought was interesting about this movie and why I wanted to write about it.

#1 The film is told out of sequence.

The running clock makes it easy to tell when a shift along the timeline occurs, but I thought this was interesting. As a writer, I mostly tell my stories in sequence, but this movie has given me ideas about how I can use the nonsequential storytelling. I actually didn’t realize that what I thought was the present, was actually the past, making this a rewatchable movie. Knowing what I know now, it will be better the second time.

#2 The film is seen through the lenses of the cameras

It limits perspective, but it gives the movie a documentary feel.  Thankfully, there are cameras everywhere and I don’t feel like I’m missing any details. How could I use this as a writer? I prefer first person. It allows me to implant my readers into another person with all their emotions and perceptions. But why not tell a story and allow the readers to form their own emotions and perceptions while reading? Also the confined space allowed me to become familiar with the setting. I could use more words to tell the story and less describing scenery.

Sum it up

I enjoyed this film and hope I can use something I’ve learned to write better.  Watch the movie and let me know what you think about it.

By Angelique Grey

Leave a Reply

