I’m afraid 

I’m afraid…

… that this moment means more to me than it does to you.

… that I’ve already started to shut down the possibility of others and you’re still looking.

… that your words are really a Trojan horse for other intentions.

… that when I make myself vulnerable, you’ll destroy me.

I’m afraid that instead of feeling the same butterflies, you’re plotting how to let me down gently.

I’m scared…

… that your lips will whisper sweet lies to me.

… that I’ll wake up in the morning to heartache and regret.

by Angelique Grey

Leave a Reply

